What went in my hospital bag

15 months after setting up my Wordpress account here is my first post – What I put in my hospital bag. Ta da!

So I set up my blog account over 15 months ago and this is my first post. Better late than never I say! I knew becoming a Mummy would be hard but I guess nothing can prepare you for the role, it hits you like a ton of bricks. So much has happened since the birth of my little boy (sleepless nights, starting nursery, weaning, starting back at work and moving house) and all before his first birthday. So I am pleased to say it does get easier and that’s why I am sitting here today writing this post. Along the way I made constant notes about things that worked for me, and I hope that this blog can be of help to other first time mothers.

Looking back at my notebook, the first page covered what to pack in my hospital bag. I think I packed mine at around 38 weeks, just in case! I packed one bag for the baby (Pink Lining Blooming Gorgeous bag) and one bag (Antler Urbanite holdall bag) for myself.

Baby Bag

  • scratch mitts x 2
  • socks x 2
  • bibs x 2
  • cotton hat (white) x 1
  • wool hat (yellow) x 1
  • wool cardigan (white) x 1
  • muslin cloths x 3
  • bodysuit/vests (yellow & white) x 3
  • sleep suits (yellow & white) x 2
  • blanket (white) x 1
  • towel (white) x 1
  • nappy sacks x 10
  • nappy cream x 1
  • baby wipes x 1 pack
  • antibacterial hand gel x 1
  • nappy x 8
Baby hospital bag
Baby hospital bag

 

 

My Bag (for Mummy and Daddy)

  • snacks (crisps, tracker bars and jelly babies)
  • t-shirts x 2 (for Daddy)
  • puzzle book, magazine and pen (ha ha ha… that never got used!)
  • maternity pads x 2 packs
  • disposable underwear
  • slippers x 1
  • pink pyjamas x 1
  • long nightie x 1
  • flannel
  • underwear
  • breast pads
  • socks
  • outfit to wear home
  • change for parking
  • charger for phone
  • dressing gown
  • vest (as I had planned for water birth)
Bernie the bear
Bernie the bear

Wash Bag

  • deodorant (for Daddy)
  • face wipes
  • toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • lip balm
  • nipple balm
  • moisturiser
  • body wash
  • deodorant for me

We also threw a pack of nappies and box of formula in the boot.

If I were to do it all over again I would make a few changes to the list. I would advise bringing a pillow from home, those hospital beds are so uncomfortable and you really need your rest! Pick a couple of pairs of pyjamas in a dark pattern to wear around the hospital and a lightweight dressing gown. Plenty of change is a must as you cannot guarantee good phone signal. I think I got the baby bag spot on and I didn’t really need anything extra when I was there.

Hope this post has been handy! Ta ta for now!

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

Leave a Reply

