Too tired for more babies?

baby

Lately I have felt so, so tired and I really don’t understand why. We are way past the night feed stage and the little tyke is sleeping fairly well at the moment but I still feel sapped of energy. Its when I feel like this that it makes me wonder; could I cope having another baby? I don’t know if I can and that makes me feel a little bit sad. Am I alone in feeling like this?

I found the baby stage really, really hard. For the first six months I did not enjoy it at all and I felt very low at times. The sleep deprivation was so hard to deal with and I struggled with the physical after effects of giving birth for a long while. Please don’t get me wrong, the first time I layed eyes on my son it was love at first sight, but I felt absolutely useless in the beginning. I didn’t know how to do anything and I had zero confidence in my abilities. If I did it again of course I would probably be better, in fact I know I could be better. But I still worry how I would do.

If I am honest, I would love a little brother or sister for the little tyke some day. It would be lovely to see him bond and play with another sibling, he would make such a good big brother. But if it didn’t happen for whatever reason would he still be ok and how would I feel? Would I regret it? I guess work is not really helping me at the moment, its been pretty full on and the stress is probably contributing to the tiredness more than anything. Also, the little tyke is walking now, so he is into everything and he can be bit of handful at times. But I love how he is now, he’s so great at this age and I will miss this time. Please don’t grow up too quickly little tyke!

There is so much to look forward to with our little family and I am excited about what the future has to hold. With regards to extending it one day; it may or may not happen. Who knows how I will feel in time to come?

Ta ta for now xxx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

10 thoughts on “Too tired for more babies?”

  1. I also feel this way too sometimes. I just get soo overwhelmed with what’s going on. I’m still adjusting to the mom life. I also felt tired too all the time and I went to the doctor to make sure everything was okay, turns out I have iron deficiency.

    Like

  2. I also felt this way after my first, and when I found out I was pregnant again my first response was actually terror because I wasn’t ready. My second pregnancy was awful, and it turned out that I had postpartum depression during the pregnancy. Ugh! I went to my doctor and was treated for it and things got a lot better. Once my second was born and I had adjusted I slowly gained confidence in what I was doing. I’m not saying you’re depressed at all, but trust me when I say that you are not alone in how you feel.

    Like

  3. We’re on baby number 2 now and doing night feeds aaaaall over again. To be honest, our first was so, so “good” that we were a little nervous about our second – everyone kept telling us that we’d never have two the same…! Our first slept through from pretty early on, would feed quickly and always dropped off to sleep with minimal fuss. Our second baby is different – she takes a good while to feed but still drops off back to sleep very quickly. There’s no secret to it unfortunately – we are the most disorganised family in there’s world so there’s definitely no strict routine that we could teach others… we just have lazy babies!
    Sleep deprivation is torturous though – and something I am dreading when baby starts teething!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kind of find it difficult to judge whether the little tyke was a ‘good’ baby without another to compare to. He had awful colic and silent reflux to begin with which was a bit of a nightmare at the time, but he was good at settling into a sleep routine.

      Like

  4. Colic is so awful – terribly upsetting to see them in pain and basically being told there is nothing you can do! Our friends baby suffered terribly and I felt so guilty at the time when we talked about our babies – it always felt like I was “rubbing it in” a bit whenever I told her how well our little girl was sleeping.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, its really difficult when you cannot help. It really did make me feel a bit useless at the time. But he grew out of it soon enough. I am sure your friend would have been happy that you didn’t have to struggle with it as well x

      Like

  5. Oh my … I could’ve written the exact same words after my first was born! SO HARD. I had PPD hit worst at 5-6m. Not an easy time for some reason. Things do get much easier, and the second baby is so much easier overall because you sort of know what you’re doing, even if you forgot a lot (hmm, product of sleep deprivation perhaps?!). Just knowing you’re not alone in having these feelings helps, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes its funny how you forget things, when you look back its like it was all a very strange dream. Did that even happen to me? Well little tykes here now, so I guess it did. It does bring comfort to know that I am not alone in these feelings, thank you. Glad to hear that your 2nd child was easier, that does reassure me a little. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

