Favourite family films

pinocchio

The little tyke isn’t quite old enough to sit down and watch films with us as a family, but someday soon he will. I really look forward to cuddling up on the sofa to watch something magical that transports us into a fantasy world and brings us happy memories. I was thinking about this the other day, what family/children’s films would I like to show to the little man when he is old enough? Here is my selection and the reasons why –

Pinocchio

I remember this being the very first movie that my Dad took me to see at the cinema. I even remember being given a fun activity sheet to fill in and getting a small tub of Walls vanilla ice cream that you would eat with a little wooden spoon. So cute. Its a wonderful, warm and charming film that remains magical to this day!

Ratatouille

I am obsessed by this film! Its my favourite of all the Pixar films and I just know that my little man will fall in love with this tale of Remy the cooking rat. In fact, just thinking about it makes me want to watch it again.

The Goonies

This was a favourite as a child and I just love adventure films like this and the Indiana Jones series, they just don’t make them like they used to! It is a really fun film that keeps all the family entertained from start to finish.

Elf

I have to say that I didn’t really like Will Ferrell before this film, but after I saw Elf I was converted. Its such a warm, cuddly and funny Christmas film that really brings cheer to you during the Christmas period. Best Christmas film ever!

Home Alone

I have to watch this every Christmas without fail. Its such a 90s film and it really takes me back to my childhood. I can imagine my cheeky, adventurous little boy will love to watch this in years to come.

Labyrinth

I am a big David Bowie fan and I absolutely fell in love with him in this film. My first crush! Ahem, anyway….. its a cool fantasy fairytale type film with wonderful creatures from Jim Hensons workshop. Besides David Bowie the Goblin King, my favourite character was Ludo the big friendly monster.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Not the Johnny Depp version, but the original with Gene Wilder. But the little tyke has to hear the book being read to him first. The films are great but they do not compare with the greatness of Roald Dahls writing.

Shrek

Great for kids but even better for adults with the cheeky jokes that only we get. Shrek is such a great character and the films are really quite witty.

The Lego Movie

Greatest ever toy. Very good product plugging film.

Enchanted

Normally this type of film would be bit too sing songy for me, but its so funny and tongue in cheek that it gets away with it. Amy Adams was a revelation in this film.

Night at the Museum

A great fun family movie with the very funny Ben Stiller.

Paddington

A lovely, lovely story of the lovable little brown bear. I really thought they did an excellent job of bringing the character to the big screen.

Babe

Oh babe was just the cutest little talking pig ever wasn’t he!

Wizard of Oz

Because, because its the wonderful Wizard of Oz. It just had to go this list. Classic.

Is there a film that you are looking forward to watching with your little one? What was your favourite when growing up?

Ta ta for now and nighty night xx

 

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

18 thoughts on “Favourite family films”

  1. I can’t wait to watch the Harry Potter movies with our daughters!! And read the books, of course. She’ll have to be old enough to handle the deaths and cruelty, though. So far she’s seen Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast (a bit too violent for her, I think), and Yellow Submarine (which she loves, oddly). I want to try Elf this year, but my favorite Christmas movie is It’s a Wonderful Life. But … seeing as my husband doesn’t like its slow b&w pace, I doubt she will… :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now I’ve never really got on with the Harry Potter movies myself, but I cannot deny that they are good fun for kids. But Yellow Submarine, thats an inspired choice! I haven’t seen it for years! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

