Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017

new-yearThis probably won’t be the first or last post that you have seen today about the New Year, but I am writing this as a motivational tool for myself for the year ahead.

2016 was a good year for us, but a hard one. We put our house on the market and we bought and moved into our new house, which was something I didn’t think that we could achieve with such a young child. Our little boy settled well at nursery, totally cracked eating solids, started crawling, turned one and mastered walking (until he broke his leg!). I feel more confident about being back at work, but am still not sure if I am happy there.

I had planned on taking down all the Christmas decorations tomorrow, but I felt irritated by just looking at them today and proceeded to put them all away. Its time for a fresh start for the New Year. Bye bye Christmas!

xmas-boxed
Christmas boxed up

I also booked our first family holiday on the internet yesterday, yippee!!! Well, its more of a trip back to my home town than a holiday. I come from a place with lots of lovely beaches and I am going to make the most of being by the seaside whilst we are there. This will also be the first time that we have been on a plane with the little fella. I cannot wait to meet up with my friends to show off the little tyke, its so exciting! My Mother-in-law and her partner are coming too, which will be nice for us and the little man  (she lives away and we do not get to see her so much).

This year will also be the year that I learn to drive. There I said it, so no going back now. I took lessons years ago when I was 19, but quit because the driving instructor was a horrible bully and she really knocked my confidence. It has put me off for years, but I know that I would gain so much more confidence and independence if I could do it. So fingers crossed for me folks.

I am not sure what else I would like to have planned for the year ahead…. lose a bit of Christmas weight lol. Seriously, I used to be quite strict on my diet but it has gone to pot lately. I know I can achieve this with a bit of will power.

For the little tyke we will see lots of developments over the coming year…. more tantrums, more talking, potty training and the transition from his cot to a toddler bed. Bring it on! I love the little character he is turning into now, he really does make me laugh sometimes. But maybe not so much last night when he fought his bedtime and proceeded to giggle his head off while sticking his finger up my nose. Not funny little tyke, not funny!

Ooooo and I got the Organised Mum Life Diary from the little tyke as my Christmas present! As seen on my post about Diaries, Planners & Calendars for 2017. Check it out!

life-book-diary
Life Book 2017 from Organised Mum

I am really looking forward to using this bad boy! Ta very much little tyke xxx

What goals and ambitions do you have for the year ahead? Is there anything in particular that you are really looking forward to? I wish all of you the best of luck, joy and happiness for the year ahead! Ta ta for now my lovelies xxxx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

8 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017”

  1. Love this post … although sad to see Christmas boxed up , same has happened at our house too.
    Ooo have an amazing time on your little family holiday!! Sounds wonderful …. something to look forward to.
    Urgh I feel your pain with the driving, I passed my test 2 yrs ago and I still barely drive anywhere …. I have zero confidence behind the wheel .. so to be fair its prob safer for everyone that I leave the driving to my other half haha! But believe me …. if I can pass ….. you defo can!!! good luck!!
    hope its a great year for you all xx

    Like

    1. Ah thank you, but I am sure you are better at driving than you think you are. It is a confidence thing, I totally agree. I cannot ever imagine myself driving long distances, but the prospect of shopping or visiting people on my own motivates me. Heres to independence!! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Best wishes for the New Year to you also! I guess it’s never to late to learn (so they say). I am in my 30s and I realise how difficult it is to get on in life without driving. Just really nervous about doing it 😟

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

