TV Shows in 2017

watching-tv

I listened to the radio earlier whilst washing some dishes and the singer Gary Barlow came on to talk about his new show on Saturday night ‘Let it Shine’. He explained to the presenter that the premise of the show is to find young singers who will make up a boyband for his new musical. I immediately rushed off to pre-record the programme, its worth a try right? It got me thinking, what else is there to look forward to on the box for 2017. I did my research and heres what I have found so far……

Emerald City (Early 2017 – 5star) – An edgy version of The Wizard of Oz with the adult Dorothy Gale being transported by a tornado from Kansas to Oz. It promises to be dark and gritty. It has had mixed reviews but I wouldn’t mind giving it a whirl.

The Walking Dead Series 7 part 2 (February – Fox) – The much anticipated return after the mid-season break. God I love Negan, what a flipping great character he is! Please don’t kill him off too soon, pretty please!

Broadchurch Series 3 (February) – David Tennant and Olivia Colman return for one final case. I loved the first series and hated the second series, not sure if I will like this.

Big Little Lies (TBA – Sky Atlantic) – Featuring Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley, Laura Dern, and Reese Witherspoon. I have seen the advert appear on the channel but it didn’t really give much away. Nicole, Shailene and Reese play mothers who’s lives are turned upside down by a murder. Described as a dark comedy.

Game of Thrones Season 7 (Late Summer – Sky Atlantic) – They are only doing seven episodes this time, boo! But this is because they are concentrating on set pieces that are reportedly even bigger than before. Ooooo, Winter has arrived!

The Terror (TBA – BTtv) -The series is set in 1847, when a Royal Naval expedition crew searching for the Northwest Passage is attacked by a mysterious predator that stalks the ships and their crew in a desperate game of survival. Hmmmmm…. interesting. I don’t actually have the channel that it features on but I guess it might appear on Netflix or Amazon at some point in the future.

 

Prime Suspect 1973 (TBC) – This is a prequel to the famous crime series that featured the wonderful Helen Mirren. Without Helen Mirren, its got a lot to do in order to impress Prime Suspect fans.

Stranger Things Series 2 (TBC – Netflix) – Oh my lord the first series was a cracker!!! I loved the theme tune, the opening credits, the characters, the storyline….. it was just so bloody fantastic and I cannot wait for the second series.

Top of the Lake Series 2 (TBC – BBC2) – Elisabeth Moss returns as Detective Robin Griffin, investigating the mystery of a body that washed up on a beach. The supporting cast includes Nicole Kidman (who starred in Campion’s 1996 adaptation of Portrait of a Lady) and Games of Thrones’ Gwendoline Christie. I loved the first series and have high hopes for the returning series!

Have you heard of any other tv shows that are due to appear this year? What ones are you most excited about? I am always interested in hearing other people recommendations!

I think I might just park myself on the sofa and watch some tv now, ta ta for now my lovelies xxx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

11 thoughts on “TV Shows in 2017”

  1. I don’t think Negan will make it much past the end of this series. Usually our bad guys last a season, right? I do love JDM and been a fan of his for a while, well since the days of Supernatural.

    Also looking for to Stranger Things season two. Think I’ll rewatch season one first and get my boyfriend to watch it this time.

    I’m also looking forward to the Prison Break reboot. I’ve literally just watched the trailer and it looks amaze-balls.

    I do watch a hell of a lot of shows, but ones I’m looking forward to not mentioned are How To Get Away With Murder, The 100, and dare I say it, the last season of Pretty Little Liars.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

