Movies to see in 2017

2017-movies

Continuing on from my post the other day Lets all go to the Movies, I thought I would follow with a post about the movies that I am looking forward to seeing in 2017.

I have always loved films and am an avid reader of Empire magazine, but I don’t always get the chance to see much nowadays. So this is perhaps a list of movies that I hope to see in 2017 –

La La Land

Emma Stone is just fantastic in any movie that she appears and I have great confidence that she will charm the socks off the audience in this movie.

The film is about a jazz artist falling in love with an aspiring actress in LA and it questions if true love can win over creative ambitions. It is a modern take on an old style Hollywood musical. I am very intrigued!

Out Now

Lion

I saw the trailer at the cinema and was blown away. It was so emotionally charged, I actually felt myself well up!

Five year old Saroo gets lost on a train which takes him thousands of miles across India, away from his home and family. He is lost and alone until he is taken away and adopted by an Australian couple. Many years later as an adult, he decides to track down his real family using his faded memories and Google Earth. Amazingly, this film is based on a true story.

Out Now

Kong: Skull Island

I love a good adventure film and this promises to have all the ingredients of a stonking great beast of a film. Big scary King Kong – tick! Exotic backdrop – tick! Samuel L Jackson – tick! Tom Hiddleston – pah! Oh well, we can forget Tom Hiddleston.

The movie is set in the 70s and follows a team of explorers and scientists as they explore an uncharted island in the Pacific Ocean. Here they encounter many monsters, including the legendary ‘King Kong’.

Excited? yes!

Out March 10th

Alien: Covenant

Now I know a lot of people disliked Prometheus, but I actually really enjoyed the film. I really love, love, love Michael Fassbender and he appears once again in the new Alien film as David.

The film sees the crew of the colony ship the Covenant discovering a paradise world on the far side of the galaxy, where the only inhabitant is the synthetic David. It promises to be super scary! Oooo!

Out May 19th

War for the Planet of the Apes

Gosh, there really are a lot of big movies coming out this year! Me thinks I am going to have to get me a babysitter lol

The new Planet of the Apes series of films have been very, very successful and the effects  are nothing short of excellent. The latest film sees Caesar and the apes wage war against the humans. Promises to be epic!

Out July 14th

The Dark Tower

They have been promising to make this film of the Stephen King book series for years! I haven’t actually read the books myself, have any of you? I do like some Stephen King adaptions and I have quite high hopes for this one. Starring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey. How could I refuse?

Idris Elba plays a wondering frontiersman knight who is on a quest to reach the ‘Dark Tower’. Matthew McConaughey plays the vicious sorcerer named Walter Padick, who is hot on his trail.

Out July 28th

Star Wars: Episode VIII

As I mentioned on my earlier post, I went to see Star Wars: Rogue One at the weekend. Good movie, but not a proper Star Wars film. This promises to be a proper Star Wars film!

Out December 15th

Actually there is quite a lot to look forward to on this list, jolly good! Are there any that you think I have missed off though? I would love to hear your recommendations!

Ta ta and nighty night folks xxx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

8 thoughts on “Movies to see in 2017”

  1. Cinema is one of my passion lost in these past two years full time mummy… you gave me the idea to add them as resolutions for this year 😂😂 I rally deserve a night out at the cinema and the first will be for sure La La Land

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really don’t think I will get to go to the cinema to watch most of these movies and I might be watching them at home on DVD with a bag of popcorn. I would love to see the new Star Wars movie on the cinema if I can see any! Lion might make you cry, save your tissues xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Last Saturday I and some girl friends celebrated two upcoming babies and had a great lunch before seeing La La Land – it was GREAT!!!!!!!! I love old musicals and feel good movies- if you do, too, then PLEASE see this! It’s still in my head. Very entertaining and a good message. I actually can’t wait to see it again when it’s out on dvd or amazon/netflix. Good luck making it out to the movies soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

