The inner girly girl in me

littleballerina_1

I am by no means a girly girl, but at the same time I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a tomboy. I am someone in the middle. Growing up with a younger brother is probably a contributing factor, boys toys were just so much more fun, but equally I would be quite happy to play with barbies. I took ballet classes and I liked pink, but I also loved to explore and build dens.

As I entered adulthood, the girly side of me faded away. I like makeup and I like to get my hair styled, but I am completely useless at anything beyond that. I look at women with their perfect eyebrows, manicured nails, bronzed skin and carefully styled clothes and wish I could be like them. I guess it all comes down to priorities. If I gave up the blog, if I forgot about reading, if said sod it to the housework and forgot about my job… I might have time. Because you just cannot have it all. Somethings gotta give. Why do we all try to be so damn perfect these days? Why does it matter? I am who I am and I have to accept that.

Lately my mind has been drifting from time time, to thoughts of having a daughter of my own. To how I would dress her, what toys I would buy her and the games that we would play. I wouldn’t make her wear pink. She could play with her brothers toys. She could grow into the person she wants to be. But this is a dream and it might never happen, if we had another child it could be a boy. If it was a boy I wouldn’t be unhappy by any means, he would be a little brother for my little tyke. I don’t even know if we would be blessed with any more children, or if I have the energy for newborn and a toddler. Its just that I think about it sometimes.

Enough of my jabbering for one evening. I bid you all a lovely weekend, ta ta for now xxx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

2 thoughts on “The inner girly girl in me”

  1. No, we can’t have it all, we can’t do everything. It’s an unfortunate thing that we often feel like maybe we should!
    I was a mix of tomboy and girlie girl growing up…now I guess I’m just feminine without the frills – does that make sense? lol
    My kids have always been welcome to play with whichever toys they wanted to and they’ve pretty much chosen a balance of masculine/feminine. 🙂 As they get older, it’s interesting to see the internal gender roles sort of take over, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess society as a whole seems to have gone this way. So many women are polished and preened to perfection and it makes me feel the odd one out. I mean contouring? Whats that all about? lol You sound like you are setting your kids a great example. Don’t follow the crowd, become an individual! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

