Social Media Peer Pressure

woman-looking-in-mirror-vintage

I might be showing my age a little bit now but I didn’t grow up with the likes of Facebook, Twitter and WhatsApp. I don’t think we even had the internet at home until I was in my late teens.

How times have changed! It is my belief that social media has changed how we behave as a society drastically, everything is for show. Its all about what you earn, what you look like, where you live, how many friends you have, what wonderful holidays you go on and keeping up a pretence of having this ideal, perfect life. Its all total cobblers! Who really knows what goes behind closed doors? A lot of people try to project an idealistic image of themselves and it isn’t exactly the truth.

It doesn’t really bother me personally but I know a lot of people who cannot help but compare themselves to their perfect friends with their perfect lives on Facebook. I recall a young girl who I used to know who suffered from terrible anxiety and she would constantly compare herself to old school mates who had better jobs, bought their own property, got engaged, married or had children. I said to her at the time that she must stop putting pressure on herself to match up with these people. Yes that person might have been promoted as a Manager, but their life might not be as perfect as you think. They could have a ratbag of a husband, they could hate their workmates, they could have money problems…… you wouldn’t know because all they want to project is the positives. Who wants to shout to the world about their problems? Ok maybe some people do, but the vast majority would keep shtum.

As I said earlier, this is all new to me and I didn’t grow up with it, but I worry about the youngsters today who feel the pressure to ‘Keep up with the Joneses’. I don’t want this for my son. I want him to be who he wants to be, with no pressure from anybody else.

Am I alone in these thoughts? Do you worry about the effect that social media has on young people today? Do you find yourself comparing your life to others on social media platforms?

Some food for thought. I bid you all a lovely evening, ta ta xx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

5 thoughts on “Social Media Peer Pressure”

  1. Couldn’t put it better myself! Shame there aren’t more pics on FB with people’s heads cut off, no filter, imperfection of life before social media. It is so hard not to compare yourself to the perfect picture painted by so many. Here’s to not being perfect 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely agree! I hate social media and I sort of hate having a blog because I don’t want to “feed the beast,” but here I am. I detest FB, but I’m on it because my mom’s group is FB-based. People overshare and overcompare. It’s not real and yes, people definitely base their value and friendships on what they have versus what they saw on social media. As a friend joked, “if it’s not on FB, it didn’t happen.” How sad is that?!

    Like

  3. I definitely agree with this! I wrote a post about how I am on a social media hiatus. I did find myself comparing my life to other people’s. I feel much better and more confident about myself -now that I am not on it. I am more concentrated on things that matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I remember now. I am glad you are feeling a little bit better about things and yes it is best to concentrate on the things that matter. We should all stop trying to be someone we are not and try and be the best of who we are xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

