Thinking of spring

dafffairy

I found my first daffodil starting to bloom in our garden today! Spring is only around the corner (16 days time) and I cannot wait! This winter has been dragging on for far too long now and I, like everybody, am sick of the dark mornings and dark evenings. These are some of the things I am looking forward to this spring……

Easter

I am going to hold my hand up and admit that I am not a particularly religious person (but nor do I have any particularly negative feelings towards faith). I do enjoy the spirit of these holidays, the idea of togetherness and family gives me that warm fuzzy feeling. Plus it involves chocolate and hot cross buns! I think my little tyke is also old enough now to have a wee, little choccy egg to open on Easter Sunday.

marks-and-spencer-clements
Yummy St Clements Hot Cross Buns from Marks & Spencer
peppa-easter-gift-set
Peppa Pig Easter Gift Set for the little tyke

Pastels

I am not a particularly girly girl most of the time, but when appropriate, I can be a sucker for pastels and softer colours. I love lilac, mellow yellow or light pink nail polishes for the spring time. I also like the kind of weather where you can get away with wearing just a light jacket or no coat at all.

models-own-pastels
Pretty pastel nail polishes

 

denim-jacket
MOTO Oversized Denim Jacket from Topshop (I heart this)

 

Baby animals and the great outdoors

Thinking of spring also makes me think of cute baby animals, such as chicks and lambs. Awwww! I have been itching to take the little tyke to a farm park for ages but the weather has been pretty rubbish. I have plans to take him to one when the weather improves and we get a bit of sunshine. There are plenty up and down the country but none look better than Odds Farm Park in High Wycombe.

odds-farm
Little cuteys at Odds Farm Park

The farm is a hands-on experience for young families and featured in one of the episodes of Outnumbered. They have animal activities, demonstrations, indoor play, outdoor adventure, an award-winning tearoom, picnic areas and gift shop. Its sounds brilliant, so I am really looking forward to planning a day out here soon!

Making plans

With winter nearly behind us, it’s time to think ahead and make plans for the year ahead. I have a week back home planned for May and we have just booked our first foreign holiday to Crete in September. My husband will also be celebrating his 40th birthday next month, so I want to make this a special one for him. He also wants to go to The Big Feastival in August, which takes place on Alex James’ farm in the Cotswolds. It spans over a whole weekend, but it might be more practical for us to get a Saturday day ticket with the little man in tow. It sounds like a great family friendly festival, with lots of great food and music. Perfect!bigfeastival

What are you looking forward to this spring? Do you have any interesting plans for days out or holidays away? I am aways keen to hear about other parents ideas for things to do with young children.

That’s it from me tonight, ta ta for now xx

 

 

 

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

2 thoughts on “Thinking of spring”

  1. I can’t wait for spring as well! Tonight and last night it’s been SO COLD – -5F with the wind chill, so that’s what … -20C?! Insane. Winter, go away! I just want to get out to a park and not have to bundle up the girls. We love our park time, but I’m nervous about having two to watch run around. I’m also looking forward to doing garden work – planting veggie seeds. For Easter we do Passover and Easter, and I want to do an egg hunt! We might go to an organized one around here, but I think it’d also be fun to hide some plastic eggs with treats/toys around the yard for the girls to find. Maybe we’ll do a small party with friends! Hmm, now you have me thinking… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats is insane, damn that sounds cold! I hear you, winter be gone with you! I am itching to get out in the garden too, we haven’t been able to do much with it since we moved in last year. It seriously looks like it is in need of some TLC! Plus its our turn to host a joint birthday party for the little tyke and his cousin this year. The garden has got to look right. The Easter egg hunt sounds like a super idea, you should go for it! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

