Toddler airport tips

toddler travel

We have not long arrived back from our first family holiday with our little boy and I thought I would put together this post with some tips on how to make travelling by air with toddlers easier. The little tyke is 23 months old now and this week long holiday involved a short airplane journey back to the island of Jersey of where I originate from. I have to say that I felt incredibly nervous about the whole trip but am glad to say that we all had a pretty nice time. He had his moments though, believe me! My word, he can be a little rascal at times! I just think that everything was so new and strange to him, that it threw him off course a little. Now he’s back home, he is totally back on track.

Enough of my rambling, heres my tips……

Don’t bother with a Trunki

The little man does have a Trunki, of which he has used on a short weekend to the seaside but I didn’t intend to use it on this trip. Besides, with him being under two, he didn’t have luggage allowance for it. I think I would leave it another year or two before I let him take it on holiday. I just know that we would end up lugging it around and with a toddler who wants to run off in the opposite direction, it isn’t ideal!

Keep your travel documents in a wallet

Now I didn’t do this, but I intend to find a nice plastic zip up wallet for my next holiday to keep my passports/tickets/boarding cards/hire car paperwork. We were the last people on the plane there and back, due to us having to dig around our humongous back pack for our boarding cards! Save yourself some time people, get a travel wallet!

Pay for fast track at security

Have you seen the queues at security? My little tyke doesn’t have the patience and would have had a meltdown if we hadn’t pre-booked the fast track lane.

Tire the little monkeys out before you get on the plane

He fell asleep just as the plane left the ground on the way there and back! He didn’t even wake up when we landed! Amazing! I am guessing this is fluke, but it helped that we let him play and run around the airport before we boarded. Airports sometimes have soft play or activity areas that can help entertain children.

If they don’t sleep, be prepared

We brought along a cute little lunchbox with some little snacks that included mini cheddars, muesli bar, yoghurt raisins and a fruit smoothie. I bought a couple of little new toys and a comic with stickers to entertain him. I also found a sticker book from Amazon with funny faces. Failing all of that, the iPad will save you.

Get yourself a lightweight foldable stroller

Our regular pushchair is an absolute pain to fit into cars. I found a new stroller from Mountain Buggy that folds up so small, it can fit in a little bag. It’s really lightweight and fits nicely into hire cars with all your luggage included.

I think thats about it really. It wasn’t easy but we survived to tell the tale! I will have a few more posts lined up relating to our recent holiday, hope you are all well my Worpress friends! Ta ta and good night xxx

 

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

3 thoughts on “Toddler airport tips”

  1. I hope your holiday was pleasant! Can’t wait to read more about it. These are great tips, thank you for sharing. So happy he slept on the flights!!! Such a great idea to tire them out, if at all possible. We’ve only flown once with our oldest daughter, and we downloaded Sleeping Beauty onto our Kindle, but she couldn’t hear it over the plane noise – and we had no headphones. But we managed, lol.

    Like

    1. Thank you, it was a nice change to get away. It wasn’t a relaxing break like how it would have been pre kids, but it was fun. You can get little headphones for toddlers that might help. We didn’t get a chance to use ours, due to him falling asleep lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, isn’t it the truth that nothing is the same again. Not relaxing, but “exciting,” haha. We’re flying somewhere in July, so I will definitely pick up some headphones before then! Hope I remember…

        Like

Leave a Reply

