Morning routine of a working Mummy

I remember the weeks leading up to the end of my maternity leave and trawling through the net for advice. However would I get out of the front door in the morning? Well, you just get through it and it all fits into place. Those first few days were difficult and terribly stressful, but now it has just become the new normal. Please read on to see a breakdown of a typical morning.

5:45-6am: Wake up, wake up! The little tyke is an early riser, so unfortunately we cannot really get up before him to get things ready (if we got up any earlier I would be a zombie). My husband heads down to get the morning drinks (tea for the adults, milk for the little man) and I pick up my little boy from his room and head downstairs also.

6:00am: The little tyke sits on my knee and drinks milk from a beaker. We switch on the tv and watch Cbeebies – Show Me Show Me, Baby Jake and Number Blocks. Daddy and Mummy try to wake up whilst drinking a warm mug of tea.

6:30 – 6:40am: We go upstairs to get the little man ready. Nappy changed (he hates this), eczema cream rubbed on legs and arms, then change of clothes. We wipe his face and he takes his toothbrush downstairs with Daddy.

7:00am: I get ready upstairs. Sometimes this will involve straightening my hair because I washed it the night before and sometimes I will hop in the shower. It always depends on time. You would be best to remember it doesn’t always go to plan. Whilst I am getting ready, Daddy gives the little chap a bit of toast while he makes the sandwiches. Sometimes I will prepare them the night before, but usually we are pretty tired after dinner.

7:20am: I come downstairs whilst Daddy goes up to get dressed (men never take very long). I make sure that the little tyke has brushed teeth, brushed hair and I put on his little shoes. Then I dash about the kitchen, giving it a little wipe down and tidy.

7:40am: We put the little man in the car and make sure we have everything that we need to take for the day –

  • Coats (if it is cool or raining)
  • Toddlers backpack with spare change of clothes
  • Daddys lunchbag
  • Mummys lunchbag
  • Mummys work notebook and handbag

The little man is usually a little fussy at first and he takes his little comfort toy with him in the car. We are off.

7:45am: We drop the little chap at nursery. He is usually pretty good, unless he is tired or a little under the weather. Kiss him and cuddle him and away we go.

8:00am: Arrive at work.

Phew, makes me tired thinking about it. So what do you think? Is this a pretty typical routine or do you have any other tips that can help?

Love to hear your feedback as always, ta ta folks xxx

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

12 thoughts on “Morning routine of a working Mummy”

  1. I wish mine was like this! My other half sucks at waking up and as he is on latest he tries to lay in as much as possible. So I wake up at 5:30/6 depending when little man wakes up, feed him then myself then get myself dressed, other half will wake up at some point and get dressed and then drives me into work. From then on he has little man and gets him ready, but it’s hard work in the mornings! If we both worked the same shift it may be easier!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh it doesn’t always go to plan, believe me. You know that moment when 2 minutes before you go out the door and you get a code brown situation. Oh and I nearly always forget something. I can appreciate it must be awkward when start work at different times. My hubby and I work around the corner from each other and start at the same time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh god code browns πŸ™ˆ I feel you on being forgetful! The amount of times I have to text the other half to put my house keys in little man’s bag so I can get back in the door! Baby brain clearly never leaves!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ho ho, they say baby brain is not a real thing. I swear I have it. I always worry when I leave…. did I turn the straighteners off? Did I shut all the windows? Luckily I always do lol

        Like

  2. Oy, so much to do!!!! I don’t go to work, but even so I find the mornings go smoother if I shower at night and blow dry my hair at night (sounds crazy) as well as get up and ready (takes me 10 minutes if I shower at night) before my girls wake up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well yes, you want to get yourself sorted for the day if you’re not going to work. Otherwise you feel rubbish for the rest of the day. I just saw a Facebook post where a girl I know who had a baby at the same time as little weekend has gone for a girls clubbing weekend in Spain. Where does she get the energy from? All that dolling up as well. Perish the thought lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha! A girls weekend?? I’m lucky if I get a girls NIGHT. And when we do go out, I put much less effort into it than I used to – since most of us are now moms, none of us care about the appearance … it’s all about the wine and chatting. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, I haven’t even thought about finishing maternity leave yet! I have this to look forward to πŸ˜‚ good read thank you! I’ve just started my blogging journey as I’m about to become a first time mummy! Please come check out my blog and feel free to leave any tips and advice! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish you the best of luck for your new family! It’s hard work, but it’s so incredibly rewarding being a parent. Please let me know if there are any stories you would like to read more about, it would be my pleasure to help pass on what I have learnt so far. πŸ‘ΆπŸ»πŸΌπŸ’•

      Like

Leave a Reply

