Toddlers favourite books

A little while ago (9 months to be precise) I put up a post about Little Tykes Favourite Books. Now that the little tyke has turned two, it feels like a good time to put up a post with an update. My little chap continues to enjoy storytime with Mummy and he loves to point at the pictures as we turn the pages. At the moment he likes anything bright, colourful and funny pictures. Here are some of his favourites…..

Meg and Mog by Helen Nicoll and Jan Pienkowski

IMG_2350
Meg and Mog book

The Meg and Mog series of books was a big favourite of mine when I was a child and I am so pleased that the little tyke is also a big fan. Bold, bright colours… tick. Simple stories…. tick. Funny pictures…. tick. What’s not to love about these books about Meg the witch and her friends Mog the cat and Owl!

Ten Little Pirates by Mike Brownlow and Simon Rickerty

IMG_2346
Ten Little Pirates book

I think there are quite a few variations of this book such as dinosaurs, monsters, princesses, elves and superheroes. I thought that I would go for the pirate theme because it looked quite fun and was a little bit different from the rest of the books in his collection. It’s also a great little rhyming story with lots of great sounds that you can exaggerate. As he gets older he can get more involved with the counting element, with lots of fun objects to spot on every page.

George’s New Dinosaur (Peppa Pig books)

 

IMG_2349
George’s New Dinosaur book

 

This was actually one of the little tykes birthday presents and what a great choice! It’s a winning combination of dinosaurs and George Pig. Raaaarrrrrr! It’s a simple little story that makes for a light and easy read with a toddler.

No Bed without Ted by Nicola Smee

 

IMG_2347
No Bed without Ted book

 

IMG_2348
Lots of animals to count on each page

 

I have saved the best book until last. We bought this cute little ‘lift the flap’ reading book whilst on our recent holiday and the little man simply adores it! It is so beautifully illustrated and all the animal drawings are really sweet. I just think it is a really cute story and is perfect for bedtimes!

So what do you think of our choices? Have any of you got any recommendations for books to read with two year olds at bedtime? I would love to hear some ideas!

Hope you are all well this evening, ta ta and nighty night xxx

 

 

Author: mummydummy34

Learner Mum to a cheeky but very sweet little chappy. Also wife to a very understanding husband and custodian of the laziest cat in Britain!

5 thoughts on “Toddlers favourite books”

  1. Ooh, that 10 Pirates book looks good. I think we borrowed one in the series from our library – 10 Little Trick or Treaters? They’re great! I want to find that No Bed WIthout Ted book! Looks cute with a lot to look at and talk about.
    My kids love Sesame Street books (very American, I know … Is Peppa Pig the equivalent?), the letter ones to be precise. We don’t have a favorite “bedtime book” per se, but rotate through our entire stock. I just avoid flap/noise/action books at bed, generally, because my girls get too excited by them! I keep them for daytime. I think Dr. Seuss works great for bedtime, though – maybe it’s the rhyming thing??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the pirates book is really good fun. Maybe not a good bedtime book though, it does get the kiddies a bit excited. Definitely think the No Bed without Ted book is super cute for little ‘un’s at bedtime. I have not really seen any Sesame Street books over here. Dr Seuss is a good shout, which one would you recommend trying first?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m going to check out both from our library and try them during the daytime – then we’ll see if they’ll work for nighttime, too.
        I think our Sesame Street books are all used, come to think of it!! Old, as in from when I was a kid…..
        Oh boy, they are all awesome. Hop on Pop is an easy read. Green Eggs and Ham is good. The Sneetches and Other Stories (What WAs I Afraid Of is great). We love the Cat in the Hat because it flows so well, but it’s a bit long if that’s the first Seuss book he tries.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.